top of page

Biography of painter Luc Fortier

Chronology

Luc Fortier is a self-taught Canadian artist who was born and resides in Montreal. Drawing has always been ubiquitous, whether in the form of playful drawings during childhood or sketches of 3D machines during his career as a mechanical engineer. Art has always been used as a powerful means of communication. His sketchbooks have also served many times as reference documents for his partners and clients.

The painting component for its part only started much later following a first abstract painting workshop followed in Montreal in 2009; his main source of inspiration at that time was the painter Wassily Kandinsky. In 2013, a workshop attended in France profoundly changed the artist's quest when he discovered the French expressionist painter Serge Labégorre. He will thus abandon abstract painting to devote himself to the production of acrylic portraits with a knife and contemporary figurative paintings.

Peinture -Erika 2 -painting
Prix remis par le jury à l'artiste peintre Luc Fortier lors de l'exposition la rencontre des Arts

His presence

His work has been presented in individual and collective exhibitions in Canada, notably at the Trinity art center in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, at the Carte Blanche gallery in Montreal, at the Guy-Descary cultural complex in Lachine, at the Palais des Congrès in Montreal, as well as at the Museum of Fine Arts in Saint-Hilaire. Abroad, he has also participated in several international exhibitions, including the Abbey of Fondouce (France), in 2019, at the Alexandre Dumas Media Library in Villers-Cotterêts (France) and at the BEFFROI in Bruges (Belgium) in 2017 as well than at the Maffei Marescotti Palace of the Vatican (Italy) in 2016.

He has received several awards and mentions both nationally and internationally. His paintings are part of private collections and in the public collection of the city of Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (2021). He has also been accepted into the prestigious Society of Canadian Artists SCA in 2021 and the Institute of Figurative Arts IFA in 2023.

He continues his humanitarian quest by promoting the production of thematic series. Among the most recent series, we find the series "the three poets", the series on "Carnival of Martinique" and of course the imposing series entitled "Faces of Africa" which is a series of twelve large format acrylic knife portraits of African characters.

bottom of page

top of page

Biographie de l'artiste peintre Luc Fortier

Chronologie

Luc Fortier est un artiste peintre québécois autodidacte qui est né et réside à Montréal. Le dessin a toujours été omniprésent, que ce soit sous forme de dessins ludiques pendant l’enfance ou de croquis de machines 3D pendant sa carrière d’ingénieur mécanique. L’art a toujours été utilisé comme un puissant moyen de communication. Ses carnets de croquis ont d’ailleurs servi à maintes reprises de documents de référence pour ses partenaires et clients.

Le volet peinture pour sa part n’a démarré que beaucoup plus tard à la suite d’un premier atelier de peinture abstraite suivi à Montréal en 2009 ; sa principale source d’inspiration à ce moment-là était le peintre Wassily Kandinsky. En 2013, un atelier suivi en France vient modifier profondément la quête de l’artiste lorsqu’il découvre le peintre expressionniste français Serge Labégorre. Il va ainsi délaisser la peinture abstraite pour se consacrer à la production de portraits acryliques au couteau et de peintures figuratives contemporaines.

Portrait pointilliste contemporain de l'artiste peintre Luc Fortier intitulé Erika
Prix remis par le jury à l'artiste peintre Luc Fortier lors de l'exposition la rencontre des Arts

Sa présence

Son travail a été présenté dans le cadre d’expositions individuelles et collectives au Canada, notamment au centre d’art Trinity à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, à la galerie Carte Blanche à Montréal, au Complexe culturel Guy-Descary à Lachine, au Palais des Congrès de Montréal, ainsi qu’au Musée des beaux-arts de Saint-Hilaire. À l’étranger, il a aussi participé à plusieurs expositions internationales, dont l’abbaye de Fondouce (France), en 2019, à la Médiathèque Alexandre Dumas à Villers-Cotterêts (France) et au BEFFROI à Bruges (Belgique) en 2017 ainsi qu’au Palais Maffei Marescotti du Vatican (Italie) en 2016.

Il a reçu plusieurs prix et mentions tant au niveau national qu’international. Ses toiles font partie de collections privées et dans la collection publique de la ville de Saint-Jean-sur-le-Richelieu (2021). Sa candidature a aussi été acceptée au sein de la prestigieuse société des artistes canadiens SCA (2021).

Il poursuit sa quête humanitaire en favorisant la production de séries thématiques. La plus récente série est la série intitulée « Visages d’Afrique » qui est une série de douze portraits acryliques au couteau grand format de personnages africains.

bottom of page