top of page

This portrait is complementary to that of Auguste

 

Artist's interpretation

 

This monochrome portrait is a tribute to the sculptor Camille Claudel (1864-1943) whose prolific artistic career, but in the shadow of the sculptor Auguste Rodin, will end abruptly by a forced psychiatric internment which will last the last thirty years of his life. .

 

Let's first say that this painting is part of a mini-series of two portraits which represents an essential couple in the world of sculpture. This is the portrait of the sculptor Auguste Rodin on the one hand accompanied by the portrait of his muse Camille Claudel on the other. I was fascinated not only by their remarkable artistic journey, but also by the whole tumultuous side of the couple and of course by the tragic fate of Camille Claudel at the end of her life.

I opted for a monochrome technique in the realization of the two canvases. For Camille's portrait, I chose payne's gray color pigment, which is a more subdued color like her career in the shadow of the master sculptor Auguste Rodin.

To make this portrait, I used a technique inspired by pointillism using small touches deposited with a painting knife and in the most random orientations possible. The work by stacking touches also makes it possible to develop a superb texture on the canvas.

 

Technical data

 

Title of the canvas: Camille

Artist: Luc Fortier

Year of completion: 2020

Location: Montreal

Theme: Portrait

Style: Contemporary Pointillism

Medium: Acrylic on canvas

Technique: Painting knife

Original work size: 48 x 48 x 1.5 in (121.9 x 121.9 x 3.8 cm)

Support: Canvas mounted on gallery frame

Hanging system included: Iron wire at the back

Dominant color: payne gray

Camille

C$0.00Price

    All Products

top of page

Ce portrait est complémentaire à celui de Auguste

 

Interprétation de l’artiste

 

Ce portrait monochrome se veut un hommage à la sculpteur Camille Claudel (1864-1943) dont la carrière artistique prolifique, mais à l'ombre du sculpteur Auguste Rodin prendra fin abruptement par un internement psychiatrique forcé qui va durer les trente dernières années de sa vie.

 

Disons tout d’abord que cette toile fait partie d’une minisérie de deux portraits qui représente un couple incontournable dans le monde de la sculpture. Il s’agit du portrait du sculpteur Auguste Rodin d’une part accompagné du portrait de sa muse Camille Claudel d’autre part. J’ai été fasciné non seulement par leur parcours artistique remarquable, mais aussi par tout le côté tumultueux du couple et bien sûr par le destin tragique de Camille Claudel à la fin de sa Vie.

J’ai opté pour une technique monochrome dans la réalisation des deux toiles. Pour le portrait de Camille, j’ai choisi le pigment de couleur gris de payne qui est une couleur plus effacée telle sa carrière à l’ombre du maître sculpteur qu’était Auguste Rodin.

Pour réaliser ce portrait, j’ai utilisé une technique qui s’inspire du pointillisme utilisant de petites touches déposées au couteau à peindre et dans des orientations les plus aléatoires possibles. Le travail par empilement de touches permet aussi de développer une superbe texture à la toile.

 

Données techniques

 

Titre de la toile : Camille

Artiste : Luc Fortier

Année de réalisation : 2020

Lieu de réalisation : Montréal

Thème : Portrait

Style : Pointillisme contemporain

Médium : Acrylique sur toile

Technique : Couteau à peindre

Format œuvre originale : 48 x 48 x 1.5 po (121.9 x 121.9 x 3.8 cm)

Support : Toile montée sur cadre galerie

Système d’accrochage inclus : Fil de fer à l’arrière

Couleur dominante : gris de payne

Camille

0,00C$Prix

    Tous les articles